Africa Union Summit held at Addis Ababa

News: African Union Summit was held at Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The theme of the summit was “Silencing the Guns”


African Union

  • It is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It is a permanent observer at the United Nations General Assembly.
  • Establishment: In 2002 through Sirte Declaration.
  • Headquarters: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Objectives:
    • To achieve greater unity, cohesion and solidarity between the African countries and African nations.
    • To defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its Member States.
    • To accelerate the political and social-economic integration of the continent.