Cabinet approves Ratification of seven Persistent Organic Pollutants listed under Stockholm Convention

News: The Union Cabinet has approved the Ratification of seven (7) chemicals listed under Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants(POPs).


  • Seven POPs: The seven POPs prohibited from manufacturing, trading using, importing and exporting are:
    • Chlordecone
    • Hexabromobiphenyl
    • Hexabromodiphenyl ether and Hepta Bromodiphenyl Ether
    • Tetrabromodiphenyl ether and Pentabromodiphenyl ether
    • Pentachlorobenzene
    • Hexabromocyclododecane and 
    • Hexachlorobutadiene.
  • Significance: The ratification process would enable India to access Global Environment Facility (GEF) financial resources.
  • Other Decisions taken by Cabinet: The Cabinet has delegated its powers to ratify chemicals under the Stockholm Convention to Union Ministers of External Affairs(MEA) and Environment, Forest and Climate Change(MEFCC) in respect of POPs already regulated under the domestic regulations thereby streamlining the procedure.

Additional Facts:

  • Stockholm Convention: It is an international environmental treaty, signed in 2001 and effective from 2004.It aims to eliminate or restrict the production and use of persistent organic pollutants(POPs).
  • What are POPs? These are chemicals that remain intact in the environment for long periods, become widely distributed geographically, accumulate in the fatty tissue of living organisms and are toxic to humans and wildlife.