Cape Town Agreement

News:India is yet to ratify the Cape Town Agreement which was adopted by the International Maritime Organization(IMO) for safety of fishing vessels.


About Cape Town Agreement:

  • The Cape Town Agreement was adopted by the IMO in 2012 to help combat illegal, unregulated and unreported (IUU) fishing.
  • The agreement is aimed at facilitating better control of fishing vessel safety by flag, port and coastal states.
  • It includes mandatory safety measures for fishing vessels of 24 meters (79 feet) in length and over. 
  • It covers key parameters such as stability and associated seaworthiness, machinery, and electrical installations, life-saving appliances, communications equipment, fire protection and fishing vessel construction.
  • The agreement will enter into force 12 months after at least 22 nations with an aggregate of 3,600 fishing vessels of 24 metres and over in length operating on the high seas will express their consent to be bound by it.
  • However,till now only 13 countries have ratified the Cape Town Agreement.

Additional information:

About Torremolinos declaration:

  • The Torremolinos declaration aims to ensure that the 2012 Cape Town Agreement will enter into force by the 10th anniversary of its adoption, on October 11,2022.
  • A total of 46 countries have signed this declaration to indicate their determination to ratify the 2012 Cape Town Agreement.

International Maritime Organization:

  • The International Maritime Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations.It currently has 174 Member States.
  • IMO is responsible for measures to improve the safety and security of international shipping and to prevent pollution from ships.
  • It is also involved in legal matters, including liability and compensation issues and the facilitation of international maritime traffic.