Centre extends truce with Naga militants by a year

  1. The Union Home Ministry has extended a ceasefire agreement by a year with two insurgent groups in Nagaland which are (a)National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Neopao Konyak/Kitovi) and (b)National Socialist Council of Nagaland/Reformation (NSCN/R).
  2. Further,a fresh pact for suspension of operations was signed with the National Socialist Council of Nagaland/K-Khango.
  3. These three insurgent groups which operates in Nagaland,are among several other armed groups of the state which includes NSCN(Isak-Muivah) and NSCN-Khaplang.
  4. In 2015,the NSCN(IM) faction had entered into peace talks with the Indian government.On the other hand,NSCN(K) had established their base in Myanmar and were involved in strikes against Indian Security Forces.