Godfathers of deep learning get turing award

  1. The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) awarded Yoshua Bengio,Geoffrey Hinton and Yann LeCun the A.M.Turing Award 2018 for making breakthroughs in deep neural networks which is a subfield of Artificial intelligence.
  2. The A.M.Turing Award is often referred to as the computer science award  equivalent of the Nobel Prize.The award is given by the Association for Computing Machinery(ACM).ACM is a non-profit professional membership group,headquartered in New York City.
  3. The A.M. Turing Award was named in honour of Alan Mathison Turing (1912–1954),a British mathematician and computer scientist.
  4. He had made fundamental advances in computer architecture, algorithms, formalization of computing, and artificial intelligence.Turing was also instrumental in British code-breaking work during World War II.