Journalist Ravish Kumar among 2019 Ramon Magsaysay award winners

  1. Indian journalist Ravish Kumar has been awarded the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award for harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless.
  2. The Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in 1957.The award is named after Ramon Magsaysay who was the seventh president of the Philippines.
  3. The award recognizes and honors individuals and organizations in Asia regardless of race, creed, sex, or nationality who have achieved distinction in their respective fields and have helped others generously without anticipating public recognition.
  4. The award is internationally-recognized as Asia’s Nobel Prize counterpart and is the highest award given to Asian individuals and organizations.