Law Commission to be formed soon

  1. The Ministry of Law and Justice has initiated the process of setting up of the 22nd Law Commission.
  2. The three-year term of the 21st Law Commission under Justice B.S. Chauhan had ended on August 31, 2018.
  3. Law Commission of India is non-statutory body. It is established through an order of the Government of India. The government of India constitutes the Law Commission for a fixed tenure (every three years).
  4. It is usually headed by a former Supreme Court judge or a former Chief Justice of a High Court.
  5. The main function of the Law commission is to reform laws. The Commission acts as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice.
  6. The First Law commission pre-independence was set up in 1834 under the Charter Act, 1833. The chairman of the commission was Lord Macaulay.
  7. The first Law Commission of India post-independence was established in 1995. The then Attorney-General of India, Mr M.C.Setalvad was the Chairman of the Commission.