Lok Sabha passes the Major Port Authorities Bill, 2020

News: Lok Sabha has passed the Major Port Authorities Bill, 2020


  • The bill seeks to replace the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963.
  • Objective: The Bill seeks to provide for regulation, operation and planning of major ports in the country and provide greater autonomy to these ports.
  • Key Feature: The bill provides for the creation of a Board of Major Port Authority for each major port.  These Boards will replace the existing Port Trusts.

Additional Information

India has 12 major ports— Deendayal (erstwhile Kandla), Mumbai, JNPT, Marmugao, New Mangalore, Cochin, Chennai, Kamarajar (earlier Ennore), V O Chidambarnar, Visakhapatnam, Paradip and Kolkata (including Haldia).