Nobel Peace Prize

News: The prime minister of Ethiopia, Abiy Ahmed, has won the 2019 Nobel peace prize. He was recognised for starting peace talks with Eritrea and establishing a peace agreement to end the long stalemate between the two countries. He has also brought reforms in Ethiopia.


About Nobel Peace Prize

  • The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes.
  • Since 1901, it has been awarded annually (with some exceptions) to those who have “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”
  • The recipient is selected by the Norwegian Nobel Committee, a five-member committee appointed by the Parliament of Norway.
  • Recipient of the first Nobel Peace prize were Frenchman Frédéric Passy and the Swiss Jean Henry Dunant.
  • Indians who received Nobel Peace Prize: Mother Teresa (1979) and Kailash Satyarthi (2014).

Additional Information

Nobel Prize

  • The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances.
  • The will of the Swedish chemist, engineer and industrialist Alfred Nobel established the Nobel prizes in physics, chemistry, medicine, peace and literature in 1895.
  • The award for Economics was created by Sweden’s Central Bank in 1968. It is officially known as Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.