Statue of Unity finds place in ‘8 Wonders of SCO’

News:The Statue of Unity has been included in the 8 wonders of Shanghai Cooperation Organization(SCO).


About 8 Wonders of SCO:The Eight Wonders of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization(SCO) project embraces eight unique archeological and historical monuments of the SCO member states.These eight sites are:

  • Statue of Unity in India 
  • Daming Palace in China 
  • Navruz Palace in Tajikistan 
  • Mughals Heritage in Pakistan
  • Lake Issyk-Kul in Kyrgyzstan
  • Po-i-Kalan complex in Uzbekistan
  • Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan
  • Golden Ring of Russia.

About Statue of Unity:

  • The Statue of Unity is a memorial to Sardar Vallabhai Patel.It was inaugurated on 31st October 2018 in commemoration to Sardar Patel on his 143rd birth anniversary.
  • It is situated in the Kevadia town,Narmada district Gujarat. It has been built on the Sadhu Bet Island, on the Narmada River.
  • It is the tallest statue in the world with a height of 182 mts.

Additional information:

About Shanghai Cooperation Organisation(SCO):

  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation(SCO) also known as the Shanghai Pact is a Eurasian political, economic, and military organisation.
  • It was was founded in 2001 in Shanghai.The Secretariat of SCO is based in Beijing,China.
  • The members of the SCO are China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.