Tribal Affairs Ministry proposes 6th Schedule Area status to Ladakh

News: Union Tribal Affairs Ministry has proposed 6th Schedule Area status to Union Territory of Ladakh.


About Sixth Schedule

  • The Sixth Schedule consists of provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, according to Article 244 of the Indian Constitution. It was passed by the constituent Assembly in 1949.
  •  It seeks to safeguard the rights of tribal population through the formation of Autonomous District Councils (ADC).
  • It also provides for separate Regional Councils for each area constituted as an autonomous region. 
  • The Governors of these four states are empowered to declare some tribal dominated districts / areas of these states as autonomous districts and autonomous regions.

Additional Information:

Autonomous District Councils

  • Autonomous District Councils are administrative bodies constituted in accordance to Sixth Schedule, Article 244 (2) & Article 275(1) of the Indian Constitution.
  • Powers:

o   can constitute village courts within their jurisdiction to hear trial of cases involving the tribes

o   empowered to make legislative laws on matters like land, forests, fisheries, social security, entertainment, public health, etc. with due approval from the governor

o   Acts passed by Parliament and state legislatures may or may not be levied in these regions unless the President and the governor gives approval.

  • There are 10 autonomous district councils:
  1. Assam: Bodoland Territorial Council, Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council and Dima Hasao Autonomous District Council.
  2. Meghalaya: Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council and Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council.
  3.  Tripura: Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council.
  4.   Mizoram: Chakma Autonomous District Council, Lai Autonomous District Council, Mara Autonomous District Council.

Fifth Schedule:

  • It deals with the administration and control of Scheduled Areas as well as of Scheduled Tribes residing in any State other than the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.