UN Security Council condemns Pulwama attack

  1. The UN Security Council (UNSC) condemned the terror attack perpetrated by Pakistan-based terror group Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), in a show of solidarity and support to India.
  2. France is also expected to move a proposal, along with the United States and the United Kingdom, to declare Masood Azhar a terrorist subject to UNSC sanctions under Resolution 1267, which includes JeM, the outfit he founded.
  3. In 2016, India was joined by the P3 countries – the US, the UK and France and in 2017, again a similar proposal was moved at the UN. China, however, has always blocked the proposals from being adopted.
  4. The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. It is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security.
  5. The Security Council consists of fifteen members. Russia, the United Kingdom, France, China, and the United States—serve as the body’s five permanent members.The Security Council also has 10 non-permanent members, elected on a regional basis to serve two-year terms.