Union Cabinet approves creation of 22nd Law Commission

News:The Union Cabinet has approved the creation of the 22nd Law Commission.


About Law commission:

  • The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government of India every three years since 1955. 
  • The 21st Law Commission of India was established in 2015 and its tenure was upto 31st August,2018.

Composition of 22nd Law Commission:The commission will consist of the following members:

  • a full-time Chairperson;
  • four full-time Members (including Member-Secretary)
  • Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs as ex-officio Member;
  • Secretary, Legislative Department as ex officio Member; and
  • not more than five part-time Members.

Functions of the commission:The Law Commission of India shall:

  • Identify laws which can be immediately repealed
  • Examine the existing laws in the light of Directive Principles of State Policy(DPSP) and suggest ways of improvement 
  • To respond to requests made by other countries in framing their legal system
  • To make measures that shall help to serve the poor legally 
  • To convey to the Government its views on any subject relating to law and judicial administration when asked for.
  • To revise laws so as to simplify them and remove anomalies, ambiguities and inequities.