25th meeting of the western zonal council

News: The 25th meet of the Western Zonal council will be held in January. Maharashtra is the lead coordinator of the meet in 2020.


  • Zonal Councils are statutory bodies established under the States Reorganization Act, 1956.


  • national integration
  • arrest the growth of acute State regionalism, linguism and particularistic tendencies
  • enable Centre and the States cooperation
  • establish a climate of co-operation amongst States for the successful execution of development projects

Composition of zonal councils

  • Chairman: Union Home Minister
  • Vice-Chairman: Chief Ministers of the States included in each zone by each holding office for a period of one year at a time
  • Members:  Chief Minister and two other Ministers as nominated by the Governor from each of the States and two members from Union Territories in the zone.

Zonal Councils in India:

There are 5 Zonal Councils:

North Zonal CouncilJammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Punjab, Delhi and ChandigarhNew Delhi
Central Zonal CouncilUttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and UttarakhandAllahabad
Eastern Zonal CouncilBihar, Jharkhand, west Bengal and orishaKolkata
Western Zonal CouncilGujarat, Maharashtra, goa, Dabra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuMumbai
Southern Zonal CouncilAndhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Tamil nadu, Kerala, PuducherryChennai

Additional Information:

North Eastern Council

  • It was created under the North-Eastern Council Act of 1971.
  •  Members: Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura and Sikkim.