Baltics open Europe’s first pandemic ‘travel bubble’

News:The Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have opened their borders to one another creating the first travel bubble within the European Union.


  • Baltic Travel Bubble: It aims to facilitate the citizens of these three Baltic countries to travel within the region without hassles.However, those who are coming from any other countries would be required to follow self-isolation guidelines and stay in quarantine for exactly 14 days.
  • Travel Bubble: It involves reconnecting countries or states that have shown a good level of success in containing the novel coronavirus pandemic domestically.Such a bubble would allow the members of the group to rekindle trade ties with each other and kickstart sectors such as travel and tourism.

Additional Facts:

  • Baltic States: is a geopolitical term typically used to group the three sovereign states in Northern Europe on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea namely Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.