Central Sanskrit Universities Bill,2019

News:The Minister of Human Resource Development has introduced the Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2019 in Rajya Sabha.


About the Bill:

Aim:To convert India’s three deemed-to-be Sanskrit universities — (i) Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi, (ii) Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, New Delhi and (iii) Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Tirupati into Central Sanskrit Universities.

Purpose of Universities:The central universities will: 

  • disseminate and advance knowledge for the promotion of Sanskrit
  • make special provisions for integrated courses in humanities, social sciences, and science and 
  • train manpower for the overall development and preservation of Sanskrit and allied subjects.

Executive Council:It will be a principal executive body with 15-members that will include the:

  • Vice Chancellor appointed by the Centre who will be the chairperson
  • a joint secretary of the HRD Ministry and 
  • two eminent academics from the field of Sanskrit or allied subjects mong others.