Conference on military medicine for SCO

News:The first conference of Military Medicine for Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Member States will be held in New Delhi on 12-13th September, 2019.


About the conference:

  • The conference will be the first Military cooperation event hosted by Indian after India became a SCO Member State in 2017.
  • The purpose of the conference is to share best practices in the field of military medicine, build capacities and overcome common challenges. 
  • The conference will be conducted by the Indian Armed Forces under the aegis of Headquarters Integrated Defence Staff(HQ IDS).
  • The SCO Member States will be represented by senior military medical practitioners.
  • The dialogue partners Nepal and Sri Lanka will also be sending their delegations to participate in the Conference. 

Additional Information:

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation(SCO):

  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation(SCO) also known as the Shanghai Pact is a Eurasian political, economic, and military organisation.
  • It was was founded in 2001 in Shanghai.
  • The Secretariat of SCO is based in Beijing,China.It provides informational, analytical & organisational support.

Objectives of SCO:

  • Strengthening mutual trust and neighbourliness among the member states.
  • Promoting effective cooperation in -politics, trade & economy, research & technology and culture.
  • Enhancing ties in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, etc.
  • Maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region.
  • Establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political & economic order.

Members of SCO 

  • Prior to the creation of SCO in 2001,Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan were members of the Shanghai Five.
  • Following the accession of Uzbekistan to the organisation in 2001, the Shanghai Five was renamed to SCO.
  • India and Pakistan became members in 2017.

Observer states:

  • The observer states are namely (a)Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, (b)Republic of Belarus (c)Islamic Republic of Iran and (d)Republic of Mongolia.

Dialogue partners

  • There are six dialogue partners which are (a)Republic of Azerbaijan (b) Republic of Armenia (c)Cambodia (d)Nepal (e)Turkey and (f)Sri Lanka.