Government announces Padma Awards winners

News:Government has announced 141 Padma Awards on the occasion of 71st Republic Day. 


About Padma awards:

  • The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours after the Bharat Ratna announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • The award is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements in all fields of activities/disciplines.

Categories of Padma awards:

  • Padma Vibhushan: For Exceptional and distinguished service.
  • Padma Bhushan: For Distinguished service of high order.
  • Padma Shri: For distinguished service in any field.

Padma awards committee:

  • The committee is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.The Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary.It includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and 4-6 eminent personalities as its members.

Additional information:

About Bharat Ratna:

  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of India instituted in the year 1954.
  • It is given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order.