Home Secretary holds meet to take Central schemes to J&K

  1. Parliament has passed the Presidential order which effectively abrogates the special status accorded to Jammu and Kashmir under the provision of Article 370.
  2. It has also passed the Jammu and Kashmir (Reorganisation) Act,2019. The bill bifurcates the State into two separate union territories of Jammu and Kashmir(with legislature) and Ladakh (without legislature).
  3. The Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir will have a lieutenant governor and a 107-member assembly which will be enhanced to 114 after a delimitation exercise.But the 24 seats of the assembly will continue to remain vacant as the seats fall under Pakistan-occupied Kashmir(PoK).
  4. The 5th Schedule of the J&K Reorganisation Act lists a total of 106 central laws that will be applicable to the union territories of J&K and Ladakh.As many as 153 laws of the state of J&K were also repealed alongside. 
  5. However,the government is examining whether several central legislations may have to be amended separately to remove the exception made for J&K or can the same be done for all laws under a single umbrella legislation.