India to collaborate with four nations to protect Asian rhinos

  1. India has signed the New Delhi Declaration on Asian Rhinos 2019 at the recently held Second Asian Rhino Range Countries Meeting in New Delhi. The meeting was organised by Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change of Government of India in collaboration with the IUCN Asian Rhino Specialist Group, World Wildlife Fund (WWF) – India and Aaranyak (Wildlife NGO).
  2. Under the declaration India will collaborate with Bhutan, Nepal, Indonesia and Malaysia for conservation and protection of three Asian rhino species. The three species are a) Greater one-horned rhinoceros, b) Javan rhinoceros and c) Sumatran rhinoceros. The population of these rhino species will be reviewed every 4 years to reassess the need for joint actions to secure their future.
  3. The declaration includes a) undertaking studies on health issues of the rhinos, their potential diseases and taking necessary steps; b) collaboration and strengthening wildlife forensics for the purpose of investigation, c) strengthening trans-boundary collaboration among India, Nepal and Bhutan for the conservation and protection of the Greater one-horned rhino.
  4. The Great one horned Rhinoceros (Indian rhinoceros) is found in the Indian subcontinent. It is listed as Vulnerable in the ICUN Red List.
  5. Sumatran rhinos are the smallest of the living rhinoceroses and the only Asian rhino with two horns. It is found in Borneo and Sumatra. It is listed as Critically Endangered in the IUCN Red List.
  6. Javan rhinoceros is found only in Ujung Kulon National Park in Java, Indonesia. It is listed as critically endangered in the IUCN Red List.