Northern Zonal Council

News:Union Minister for Home Affairs will chair the 29th meeting of the Northern Zonal Council(NZC) at Chandigarh.


About Zonal Councils:

  • The Zonal Councils are statutory bodies.They were established under the States Reorganization Act,1956.
  • The act divided the country into five zonal councils namely Northern, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern councils.
  • In addition to the above Zonal Councils,a North-Eastern Council was also created by a separate Act of Parliament called North-Eastern Council Act of 1971.
  • The members of North Eastern council includes states such as Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura and Sikkim.


  • To bring out national integration 
  • To arrest the growth of acute State regionalism, linguism and particularistic tendencies 
  • To enable Centre and the States to co-operate and exchange ideas and experiences 
  • To establish a climate of cooperation amongst States for successful execution of development projects.

Members:Each zonal council consists of the following members 

  • Chairman – Union Home Minister 
  • Vice Chairman are the Chief Ministers of the States included in each zone by each holding office for a period of one year at a time
  • Members are the Chief Minister and two other Ministers as nominated by the Governor from each of the States and two members from Union Territories included in the zone.