UNESCO Asia-Pacific awards for cultural heritage conservation

News:India has won four UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.


About the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards:

  • The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation was established in 2000. 
  • It recognizes the efforts of private individuals and organizations that have successfully conserved structures and buildings of heritage value in the region. 
  • It aims to encourage other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities either independently or by seeking PPP (public-private partnerships).

Award winners from India:

  • Award of Distinction was won by Vikram Sarabhai Library, Indian Institute of Management(IIM),Ahmedabad 
  • Award of Merit was won by both Keneseth Eliyahoo Synagogue, Mumbai and Our Lady of Glory Church,Mumbai.
  • Honourable Mention was won by the Flora Fountain, Mumbai.

Additional information:


  • The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was formed in 1945.It is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris,France.
  • It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, Sciences and Culture.
  • UNESCO has 193 member states and 11 associate members.