Union Minister releases the NCAER Report on “Estimating the economic benefits of Investment in Monsoon Mission”

News: Union Minister of Earth Sciences has released the National Council

of Applied Economic Research(NCAER) report titled “Estimating the economic benefits of Investment in Monsoon Mission and High Performance Computing facilities”.



  • Aim: To use a holistic approach to estimate the incremental economic and social benefits subsequent to setting up of the “Monsoon Mission” and investments made in “High-Performance Computing systems”.


Key Takeaways:

  • For every rupee spent by the government on the National Monsoon Mission and High-performance Computing programs, the country would gain economic benefits worth fifty rupees which is 50 times more benefit on the investment over the next five years period.
  • 76% of the livestock owners are using weather information for making decisions on modification of shelter; vaccination against seasonal disease; and fodder management. 82% of fishermen reported using Ocean State Forecast (OSF) advisories every time before venturing into sea.


Additional Facts:

  • National Monsoon Mission: It was launched by the Ministry of Earth Sciences(MoES) in 2012 with an aim to develop a state-of-the-art, dynamic monsoon prediction system for short, medium and long-range forecasts.
    • Implementation: The responsibility of execution of the mission is bestowed upon the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM),Pune.
  • High Performance Computing(HPC) facilities at MoES institutes has brought in a paradigm shift in weather and climate modelling activity for operational weather forecasts.The HPC facilities established at two of the MoES institutes are:
    • Pratyush” at Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology(IITM),Pune with computing capacity of 4 peta-flops and
    • Mihir” at National Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecast (NCMRWF), Noida with a computing capacity of 2.8 peta-flops.
  • Agro-climatic zones: It refers to a geographical area with similar soil type, rainfall, temperature and water availability.India is divided into 15 major agro-climatic zones.