Article 371

  1. Article 371 of the Indian Constitution grants some temporary, transition and special provisions to some states in India.
  2. Article 371 provides special powers to the governors of Gujarat and Maharashtra to create independent development boards in regions such as Vidarbha, Marathwada, Kutch etc.
  3. Article 371 (A) states that laws enacted by Parliament will not apply to Nagaland in respect to religious or social practices of the Nagas, its customary laws, and procedures, administration of civil and criminal justice involving decisions according to Naga customary laws and ownership and transfer of land and its resources. The Central laws in relation to these matters can apply only if the Legislative Council agrees to it by passing a resolution.
  4. Article 371 (B) provides that to give autonomy and voice to tribes, the President can provide for the constitution and functions of a committee of Legislative Assembly of the state consisting of members elected from the tribal areas of Assam. Article 371 (C) is for Manipur. It is similar to that of 371 (B)
  5. Article 371 (D) and (E) provides for special provisions for Andhra Pradesh. It states that the President can provide equal opportunities for the local populace in public education and employment.
  6. Articles 371 (F), talk about special provisions with respect to Sikkim. It states that that the Legislative Assembly shall consist of not less than 30 members. In order to reflect the diversity of different groups in Sikkim, seats in the assembly are provided to people of these different sections. Article 371 (G) for Mizoram is similar to that of Article 371 (A) for Nagaland
  7. 371 (H) talks about special provisions for Arunachal Pradesh. Its states that the governor has special powers on the state’s law and order situation and can overrule the chief minister’s decision on the basis of this provision.
  8. Article 371 (I) deals with special provisions for Goa. Article 371 (J) grants special status to six backward districts of Hyderabad-Karnataka region