India joins Indian Ocean Commission as observer

News:India has joined the Indian Ocean Commission(IOC) as an observer state.


About Indian Ocean Commission(IOC):

  • It is an intergovernmental organization that was created in 1982 at Port Louis,Mauritius and institutionalized in 1984 by the Victoria Agreement in Seychelles.
  • Member States:Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, RĂ©union (an overseas region of France) and Seychelles.
  • Observer States: China, Malta, European Union, International Organisation of La Francophonie(OIF) and now India.

Objectives of IOC:

  • Political and diplomatic cooperation
  • Economic and commercial cooperation
  • Sustainable development in a globalisation context, cooperation in the field of agriculture, maritime fishing and the conservation of resources and ecosystems
  • Strengthening of the regional cultural identity, cooperation in cultural, scientific, technical, educational and judicial fields.