May’s deal faces another crunch test today

  1. UK Parliamentarians will vote on Brexit deal after UK prime minister has said that she had secured “legally binding” changes to the backstop agreement with the European Union(EU).She said that this would mean that the European Union(EU) cannot keep the UK in the [Irish] backstop indefinitely.
  2. The “backstop” agreement reached between the EU and the UK in 2017 stated that,in the absence of another solution for the Border, Northern Ireland would effectively remain within the EU customs union.This would ensure no hard border on the island of Ireland,where the UK and the rest of the European Union share their land border.But Political parties have opposed this arrangement as it would result in a border between Northern Ireland and the rest of the United Kingdom.
  3. The United Kingdom comprises four geographic and historical parts—England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.
  4. Brexit is a term used to define United Kingdom coming out of EU.During a referendum in 2016,UK voted by a narrow margin in favour of Brexit.UK had invoked Article 50 in 2016 and the deadline for the Brexit deal is March 29,2019.Article 50 of the Treaty of Lisbon gives any EU member state the right to quit unilaterally and outlines the procedure for doing so.It gives the leaving country two years to negotiate an exit deal.