President gives assent to J&K Reorganisation Bill, two new UTs to come into effect from Oct 31

  1. The President has given assent to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.
  2. The reorganisation bill provides for the formation of the Union Territory of Ladakh without Legislature and a separate one for Jammu and Kashmir with the Legislature.The two new UTs will come into existence from October 31.
  3. According to the legislation,the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislature like Puducherry and Ladakh will be a UT like Chandigarh without legislature.
  4. In both the Union Territories,the key subjects such as law and order will be with the Centre.The UT of Ladakh will have Kargil and Leh districts.
  5. The UT of Jammu and Kashmir will have a Lieutenant Governor and the maximum strength of its assembly will be of 107 which will be enhanced to 114 after a delimitation exercise.Further,24 seats of the Assembly will continue to remain vacant as they fall under Pakistan-occupied Kashmir(PoK).
  6. The current effective strength of the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly is 87 including four seats falling in Ladakh region which will now be a separate UT without a legislature.The Act said Jammu and Kashmir UT will have reservation in the assembly seats.
  7. The Lieutenant Governor of the successor UT of J-K may nominate two members to the Legislative Assembly to give representation to women, if in his opinion, women are “not adequately” represented in the Legislative Assembly.
  8. It also said that the Lok Sabha will have five seats from the UT of J-K, while from Ladakh the Lower House of Parliament will have one seat.