Statue of Unity sculptor gets Tagore Award

  1. The Indian President recently conferred the Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony. The awardees were Rajkumar Singhajit Singh (2014), Chhayanaut (2015) and Ram Vanji Sutar (2016).
  2. Rajkumar Singhajit Singh is a leading exponent, choreographer of Manipuri dance- one of the major Indian classical dance form.
  3. Chhayanaut is a Bangladeshi cultural organisation. It has played a significant role in promoting and preserving Rabindranath Tagore’s works and philosophy in Bangladesh
  4. Ram Vanji Suthar is a famous Indian sculptor. He has designed the Statue of Unity. The statue of unity is the world’s tallest statue of iconic Indian leader Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel located near Sardar Sarovar Dam in Gujarat.

Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony was instituted by the Government of India from 2012 as part of the Commemoration of his 150th Birth Anniversary. The award is given to individuals, associations, or organizations for their outstanding contribution towards promoting values