US cutting aid to El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras

  1. The U.S. State Department has decided to cut off aid to three Central American countries collectively known as the Northern Triangle.This decision was taken to push these countries to stop migration into the US.
  2. This decision comes in the backdrop of US President accusing these countries as the primary source of illegal migrants entering into the United States.
  3. Further,US President has also threatened to close the US border with Mexico,if Mexico does not stop immigrants from reaching the United States.This move could disrupt legal border crossings and billions of dollars in trade
  4. The Northern Triangle of Central America refers to the three Central American countries of Guatemala,Honduras and El Salvador,especially in regard to their economic integration.